SHALOM

smallercup.org
2 min readApr 12, 2021

--

Sometimes a word cannot be properly translated. One such word is the Hebrew word SHALOM. The nearest English translation is PEACE, but this falls far short of the richness of shalom.

Shalom in Hebrew means peace, harmony, wholeness, completeness, togetherness, prosperity, welfare and tranquillity. *

And that is all implied in one word! Interestingly, in Hebrew one may continue by asking of another, “How is your shalom (or peace)?” Not surprisingly, given the range of feelings inferred in a single word, one can have so many different types of peace. When we are at peace, is it harmony that we are feeling? or is it one of these other shades of wellness? Sometimes we are at peace, but at the same time troubled, as we feel incomplete or in difficulty.

I have been pondering the idea of shalom for several weeks, trying to figure out how MY peace is right now. Merely by pondering on the idea of shalom a peacefulness starts to develop in my heart. Is my shalom one of completeness or tranquillity or connectedness, or just the mystery of feeling at peace with my circumstances?

I have become aware that what is really undermining my peace right now is that I am rather fed up with the fallout of the virus. IT’S BEEN OVER A YEAR!! However, I still want to find peace so I need to re-define what is achievable given the various constraints I must accept and tolerate. Sensing that my feelings are shared by almost everyone else suggests there is harmony, togetherness, wholeness with others; what I feel you are also likely feeling. That makes me more tolerant and patient and soon I feel a sense of shalom and let go of my anxiousness.

One can take the challenge of shalom in the other direction and consider the opposite of shalom. If shalom means peace, harmony, and completeness than the opposite is when things fall apart or go to PIECES. ** The lesson here is that so often is that my peace is going to pieces. To improve my circumstances, I need to pull things together, find harmony and commonality with others.

So, how is your peace? See if you can piece your peace/shalom together and make it work for you.

Reflection Source: www.Smallercup.org

Please freely share and widely, there are no copyright concerns.

*: Wikipedia

**: Rabbi Rick Sherwin

--

--

smallercup.org

Is you cup half full or half empty or do you just need a smaller cup? One well-being reflections uploaded weekly Tuesdays at: smallercup.org